Frequently asked questions

Where and when is Churkin Moscow International Model United Nations held?

Moscow International Model United Nations is held every year at MGIMO-University (76, Prospect Vernadskogo Moscow, Russia, 119454). In 2021 it will take place on April 18-23.

Russian-speaking committees (GA, IMF, UNICEF, 3GA) and all their delegates will work in a completely face-to-face format.

Other committees will hold their sessions in a hybrid format. What does this mean? Online connection will be available only to foreign delegates from countries with travel restrictions. We invite all the other delegates to come and participate in person.

List of countries available for visa processing on 02.03.2021: Vietnam, Greece, Egypt, India, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Kyrgyzstan, Cuba, Maldives, UAE, Republic of Korea, Serbia, Singapore, Tanzania, Turkey, Finland, Switzerland, Japan

When does the registration close?

Registration ends on April 10 at 23:59 (Moscow time).

Who can participate in C-MIMUN?

University and high school students can participate in the Model UN. There are no age limits for participation.

How many delegates may represent each country in a committee?

Each country is represented by just one delegate in each committee.

Can teachers/professors and parents of the participants attend the conference?

Parents of underage participants and teachers/professors can register as a delegation counsellor. Counsellors are permitted to attend all the meetings but are not allowed to take the floor or communicate with participants during sessions. Counsellors are also required to pay the registration fee and receive all the materials.

Who can attend C-MIMUN as a guest?

Anyone who is not eligible for any other position but can motivate their professional interest in C-MIMUN in their application can be a guest.

How are the participants selected?

The selection process has two stages:

  1. Filling in the application on the C-MIMUN webpage. The application form includes an essay on the agenda of the chosen committee written in its working language. The essay is checked by the expert. If they are not satisfied with the essay, the applicant gets a chance to introduce changes. If the expert finds the essay satisfactory, the applicant proceeds to the second stage of the selection process.
  2. Video interview. The expert gets in touch with the applicant at the appointed time and quizzes the applicant on the UN structure and the committee agenda. If the first attempt is not successful, the applicant may have a second try. If the interview goes well, the applicant is assigned a country or an organisation they are to represent.

Within 7 days of the country/organisation assignment one is required to pay the registration fee. Within three weeks, one is to send the position statement of the represented country/organisation to the expert.

What is the registration fee?

The registration fee is a sum of money a delegate must transfer to the United Nations Association of Russia bank account to confirm participation. You can find more information about the fee and payment regulations here.

How does one get an excused absence document for the time period of the model?

To get an excused absence document one has to contact the expert and fill in the necessary information in the form.

What kind of visa assistance is provided to the foreign participants?

C-MIMUN Secretariat cooperates with the Consular Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.
Hence, foreign participants are given individual TELEX-numbers allowing them to apply for a visa under a simplified and expeditious procedure. For more information concerning assistance to foreign participants contact fp.group@modelun.ru.

Are the participants provided with accommodation during the conference?

C-MIMUN does not provide free accommodation options, but does offer a wide accommodation choice in close proximity to MGIMO at affordable prices. For detailed information contact accommodation@modelun.ru.

When will the MUN programme be available?

The programme is usually adopted several weeks before the conference, but the general plan remains the same each year. Accordingly, participants’ registration and special trainings as well as tours around Moscow take place on Sunday. On Monday morning, the registration closes, the opening ceremony is held and sessions start. Cultural activities are held every evening. Sessions conclude on Friday morning, and then the closing ceremony takes place.

What is included in the cultural programme?

C-MIMUN annually organises a rich cultural programme including tours around Moscow, ‘Global Village’ national cultures festival, meeting with a public figure, C-MIMUN traditional ball and other events. Participation in most of them is free. Keep in mind that tours around Moscow require pre-registration as the number of people in a group is limited.

Is there a dress code for the MUN?

A smart outfit is preferable for sessions. A dress code for the cultural programme events will be announced.

Do I have to attend all the sessions?

Attending sessions is a must for the MUN participants. The delegates who miss a session without having a compelling reason, will not receive the certificate.

May I use my personal computer during the MUN?

Using computers is allowed but only for work purposes.

Who organises the Churkin Moscow International Model United Nations?

C-MIMUN is organised by the Secretariat – students of the leading Moscow universities with the support of the UN, MGIMO University as well as the Presidential Grants Foundation and the MGIMO Development Foundation. You can learn more about the C-MIMUN team

My question remained unanswered.

Send your questions at our email address secretariat@modelun.ru or at a relevant MUN email address and we will be happy to help you!

Часто задаваемые вопросы

Где и когда проводится Московская международная модель ООН имени В.И. Чуркина?

Московская международная модель ООН им. В.И. Чуркина проходит ежегодно в МГИМО МИД России по адресу г. Москва, проспект Вернадского, д. 76. В 2021 году Модель пройдет 18-23 апреля 2021.

Когда закрывается регистрация?

Регистрация закрывается 10 апреля в 23:59 по Московскому времени.

Кто может принимать участие в Модели?

В Модели могут участвовать студенты вузов (бакалавриат, магистратура, аспирантура) и ученики старших классов. Для участников конференции нет ограничений по возрасту.

Сколько делегатов могут представлять одну страну в одном комитете?

Каждая страна в отдельном комитете может быть представлена только одним делегатом.

Могут ли преподаватели и родители участников присутствовать на конференции?

Родители несовершеннолетних участников, а также преподаватели школ и вузов могут зарегистрироваться в качестве советников делегации. Советники имеют право присутствовать на всех заседаниях, но не могут выступать на них, а также общаться с участниками во время сессий. Советники также оплачивают регистрационный взнос и получают раздаточные материалы.

Кто может посетить модель в качестве гостя?

Гостями Модели могут быть люди, не имеющие права участвовать в конференции в другом качестве, но обосновавшие в своей заявке профессиональный интерес к Модели.

Как проходит отбор на Модель?

Отбор состоит из двух этапов:

  1. Заполнение анкеты на сайте Модели. В анкету включаются тезисы – эссе по повестке выбранного комитета, написанное на его языке. Эссе проверяется экспертом. Если оно не соответствует его требованиям, кандидату предлагается доработать его. Если эссе устраивает эксперта, кандидат переходит ко второму этапу отбора.
  2. Видеоинтервью. Эксперт связывается с кандидатом в назначенное время и задаёт ему вопросы по истории и структуре ООН, а также по повестке дня. При неудачном прохождении собеседования кандидат может пройти его повторно. Если собеседование пройдено успешно, кандидат получает страну или организацию, которую он будет представлять.

В течение 7 дней после получения страны/организации необходимо оплатить регистрационный взнос (гражданам России). В течение трёх недель после получения страны необходимо отправить эксперту позицию представляемой страны/организации.

Что такое регистрационный взнос?

Регистрационный взнос – это сумма, которую делегату необходимо перевести на счёт РАС ООН для подтверждения своего участия. Подробнее о сумме и правилах оплаты можно узнать здесь.

Как можно получить документ для освобождения от занятий на время Модели?

Чтобы получить освобождение, необходимо заполнить анкету с необходимыми данными, которую пришлет Эксперт комитета. В случае, если Вам не пришла ссылка на форму до 10 апреля, необходимо уведомить об этом Эксперта.

Какую помощь в оформлении визы получают иностранные участники?

Секретариат C-MIMUN сотрудничает с Консульским отделом МИД России. Благодаря этому, иностранные участники получают индивидуальный TELEX-номер, который позволяет подать документы на визу по упрощённой и ускоренной процедуре. Подробнее о помощи иностранным участникам можно узнать здесь, а также написав на почту fp.group@modelun.ru.

Предоставляется ли жилье для участников на время проведения конференции?

C-MIMUN не предоставляет бесплатных вариантов жилья, однако предлагает широкий выбор вариантов для проживания в непосредственной близости от МГИМО по доступной цене. Подробную информацию можно найти здесь или обратиться на почту accommodation@modelun.ru.

Когда будет доступна программа Модели?

Обычно программа утверждается за несколько недель до конференции, однако общий план сохраняется из года в год. Так, при очном формате проведения в воскресенье проходит регистрация участников и специальные тренинги, а также экскурсии по Москве. В понедельник утром завершается регистрация, также в этот день проходит церемония открытия и начинаются заседания. Каждый вечер проходят мероприятия культурной программы. Заседания завершаются утром пятницы, после чего проходит церемония закрытия.

Что входит в культурную программу?

Ежегодно C-MIMUN проводит насыщенную культурную программу, включающую в себя экскурсии по Москве, фестиваль национальных культур Global Village, встречу с общественным деятелем, традиционный бал C-MIMUN и другие мероприятия. Участие в большинстве из них бесплатно. Обратите внимание, что экскурсии по Москве требуют предварительной регистрации, так как количество мест в группе ограничено.

Какие тренинги проводятся для участников?

В первый день Модели для участников проводятся тренинги по ведению переговоров и правилам процедуры, как на русском, так и на английском языках.

Какой дресс-код существует на модели?

Для участия в заседаниях предпочтителен официально-деловой стиль. Дресс-код для мероприятий культурной программы сообщается отдельно.

Нужно ли посещать все заседания конференции?

Посещение заседаний – обязательное условие участия в Модели. Делегаты, пропустившие один день заседания без уважительной причины, не получают сертификат об участии.

Можно ли пользоваться на Модели ноутбуками?

Использование компьютеров на заседании разрешено, но только в рабочих целях.

Кто организует Московскую международную модель ООН имени В.И. Чуркина?

C-MIMUN организуется Секретариатом – командой студентов ведущих вузов Москвы при поддержке Российской ассоциации содействия ООН, МГИМО МИД России, а также Фонда президентских грантов и Фонда развития МГИМО. Подробнее о команде C-MIMUN можно узнать здесь.

Мой вопрос остался без ответа

Присылайте ваши вопросы на почту secretariat@modelun.ru или тематические почты Модели, и мы будем рады на них ответить!